toggle menu

Upcoming Events

Stackner Cabaret

January 20 – March 19

Celebrate A Local Legend!

Learn More

Quadracci Powerhouse

January 17 – February 12, 2017

A Pulitzer Prize Winner

Learn More

Stiemke Studio

February 22 – April 2, 2017

A New Play
For Our Times

Learn More

Quadracci Powerhouse

March 7 – April 9, 2017

Great American Classic

Learn More
View Full Calendar
February 22 – April 2, 2017
STIEMKE STUDIO

by George Brant
DIRECTED by Laura Braza

AGE RECOMMENDATION: 12 and up
APPROXIMATE RUNNING TIME: 
2 hours

A NEW PLAY FOR OUR TIMES

An ace fighter pilot finds herself grounded when an unexpected pregnancy puts her career on hold. When she returns to the pilot’s seat, she finds that she’s now part of the “chair force,” flying drones and dropping bombs on enemy combatants in Afghanistan from the comfort of an air conditioned trailer in Las Vegas. In this gripping, ripped-from-the-headlines new play, we find that hunting terrorists by day and being a mother by night may be this top gun’s toughest assignment yet.

THE STIEMKE STUDIO SEASON IS SPONSORED BY 
Ed Seaberg & Patrick Smith
ASSOCIATE PRODUCERS
 John & Connie Kordsmeier

What's Grounded? Should I see it?

The way wars are fought have changed drastically in the past several decades, and this play addresses those changes and the challenges today’s soldiers face. It’s a unique perspective on modern day warfare, and will also have some great production elements that will be something to see!

SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
We're sorry. There are no performances or events available this month.
Loading...
February 2017
Wed, Feb 22
7:30 PM
Buy
Thu, Feb 23
7:30 PM
Buy
Fri, Feb 24
8:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Feb 25
4:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Feb 25
8:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Feb 26
2:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Feb 26
7:00 PM
Buy
Tue, Feb 28
7:30 PM
Buy
Wed, Mar 1
7:30 PM
Buy
Thu, Mar 2
7:30 PM
Buy
Fri, Mar 3
8:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Mar 4
4:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Mar 4
8:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Mar 5
2:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Mar 5
7:00 PM
Buy
Wed, Mar 8
1:30 PM
Buy
Wed, Mar 8
7:30 PM
Buy
Thu, Mar 9
7:30 PM
Buy
Fri, Mar 10
8:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Mar 11
4:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Mar 11
8:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Mar 12
2:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Mar 12
7:00 PM
Buy
Tue, Mar 14
7:30 PM
Buy
Wed, Mar 15
7:30 PM
Buy
Thu, Mar 16
7:30 PM
Buy
Fri, Mar 17
8:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Mar 18
4:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Mar 18
8:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Mar 19
2:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Mar 19
7:00 PM
Buy
Tue, Mar 21
7:30 PM
Buy
Wed, Mar 22
7:30 PM
Buy
Thu, Mar 23
7:30 PM
Buy
Fri, Mar 24
8:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Mar 25
4:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Mar 25
8:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Mar 26
2:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Mar 26
7:00 PM
Buy
Tue, Mar 28
6:30 PM
Buy
Wed, Mar 29
7:30 PM
Buy
Thu, Mar 30
7:30 PM
Buy
Fri, Mar 31
8:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Apr 1
4:00 PM
Buy
Sat, Apr 1
8:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Apr 2
2:00 PM
Buy
Sun, Apr 2
7:00 PM
Buy

Cast

Jessie Fisher*

Creative Team

Laura Braza
Director
Hillary Leben
Video/Projection Design
Scott Davis
Scenic Designer
Frank Honts
Casting Director
Leslie Vaglica
Costume Designer
Kimberly Carolus*
Stage Manager
Noelle Stollmack
Lighting Designer
Kyle Winkelmann
Stage Management Resident
Megan B. Henninger
Sound Designer
Marina Bergenstock
Assistant Director

* Member of Actors' Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States.

Events

PRE
SHOW

Rep-in-Depth

A pre-show conversation with a member of the Grounded cast. Rep-in-Depth occurs 45 minutes before curtain for every performance.

POST
SHOW
2
Mar

TalkBack

Immediately following select matinee performances of Grounded join members of the cast and artistic team to discuss the production.

2
Mar

Vets Light Up the Arts

March 2, 7-9pm
Join us as we celebrate veterans in the arts at Milwaukee’s iconic War Memorial Center! See live performances by local veterans, short films that focus on military culture, as well as an art gallery featuring a variety of local artists. The event is free and open to the public, with a $10 suggested donation at the door. This event is a collaboration between Milwaukee Rep, The Veteran’s Chamber of Commerce, and Feast of Crispian. 

POST
SHOW
9
Mar

TalkBack

Immediately following select matinee performances of Grounded join members of the cast and artistic team to discuss the production.

POST
SHOW
12
Mar

Wisconsin Women in the Military

Following the 2pm performance, Sunday March 12
Join us in a conversation with local female as they share their stories and discuss the needs of women in the military and how our community can provide support and recognition.

Panelists include:
• Carissa Di Pietro, Army veteran
• Rae Anne Frey, Army Veteran, OIF(09-10)
• Leah Lockett, Director of Development at Dryhootch of America
• Lynda Deehr, USAF MSGT (Ret)
• Patti Winter-Schmidt, USAF CMSgt (Ret)

POST
SHOW
14
Mar

Feast of Crispian Pop-up Performance

Following the 7:30pm performance, Tuesday March 14
Local veterans performance group Feast of Crispian will share a series of devised pieces from their upcoming performance, based on stories from the performers’ lives. This 15-minute performance will take place immediately following one of the performances in the Stiemke Lobby. 

POST
SHOW
15
Mar

Stigmas & Stereotypes

Following the 7:30pm performance, Wednesday March 15
Join us in a conversation on stereotypes about mental health which affect all people, including veterans.  These stereotypes lead to stigmas and can complicate the decision to seek mental health treatment or provide support for a veteran in need.

Panelists include:
• Erich Roush, Psychology Intern at the VA Medical Center
• Saul Newton, Executive Director of the WI Veterans Chamber of Commerce
• Otis Winstead, Employment Manager at Dryhootch of America 

POST
SHOW
16
Mar

TalkBack

Immediately following select matinee performances of Grounded join members of the cast and artistic team to discuss the production.

POST
SHOW
22
Mar

Families at War: What It Means to Be a Parent and Soldier

Following the 7:30pm performance, Wednesday March 22
Join veteran parents as they discuss the positive and negative effects of service on their family members.

POST
SHOW
23
Mar

TalkBack

Immediately following select matinee performances of Grounded join members of the cast and artistic team to discuss the production.

POST
SHOW
26
Mar

Healing our Soldiers

Following the 2pm performance, Sunday March 26
Health professionals discuss the unique mental and physical health needs of the veteran community and how professionals in our community are healing our soldiers.
Panelists include:

  • Sheppard Crumrine, Music Therapist at the VA
  • Patricia Clason, Founder of Healing Warrior Hearts 

POST
SHOW
28
Mar

Afghanistan/Wisconsin Pop-up Performance

Following the 6:30pm performance, Tuesday March 28
A special shortened version of Carthage College’s Afghanistan/Wisconsin, written by Laurel McKenzie.

POST
SHOW
29
Mar

The Chair Force: Drone Warfare

Following the 7:30pm performance, Wednesday March 29
The increase in the use of drones in US warfare has sparked controversy throughout the world. Gain insight into the nuances of this issue and how it affects wartime civilians and soldiers at home and abroad. 

POST
SHOW
30
Mar

TalkBack

Immediately following select matinee performances of Grounded join members of the cast and artistic team to discuss the production.